Monday, September 30, 2013

Review: Friday Night Bites


Friday Night Bites
Friday Night Bites by Chloe Neill

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



I am hooked! This is an awesome Urban Fantasy series with the right dosage of adventure, supernatural drama, mystery and romance. And above all, it's all about vampires!!!
Book # 2 delivered brilliantly. We're introduced a bit more into the life-changes Merit is facing regarding her change from human to vampire. And then her new role as Sentinel
Of House Cadogan. I simply enjoyed so much this book!
And ohhhh Ethan, you sexy Master vampire... You're so much more complicated than I thought.
What I specially love about this series is that it presents fresh new not-so-stereotypical characters into this genre. With having read so many books about vampires and the supernatural world, I feel
this series creates an alternate take where you really don't know what to expect.

I can't stop raving about the superb language, style and detailed descriptions. I am in love with this series and best of all, is still ongoing!!

*busy finding Book #3*





View all my reviews

Friday, September 20, 2013

Review: The Returned


The Returned
The Returned by Jason Mott

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



I'm in a conundrum with this book.

For starters, it has the most beautiful poetic descriptions about life, loss and mourning. These are still lingering in my mind. It possesses a strange literary beauty, where the main characters' feelings can manage to touch lightly -and not so very lightly- some of those fibres that evoke human relations. I imagine this book a unique personal experience on its own, as each reader can find some sort of issue, sentiment or feeling to relate to.

The puzzle for me is the plot. As a fiction and fantasy lover I was immediately drawn to this book about people returning from the dead. Basically, this was the deciding factor for me to read it. I had previously read the short stories that were released in anticipation of this book: The Sparrow, The Choice and The First. I was very much enthralled by what was this book going to tell me regarding these no-longer-dead people appearing everywhere in the world. It sounded Apocalyptic!
However when getting into business, these returned felt merely like an excuse to describe social relationships and how unsolved issues, fear of differences and change, may cause social unrest.
In turn, all the explanations I expected to have in this book weren't present. For instance, we don't know why the returned 'returned', if they aged, where they 100% as human as when they were alive, what happened to the bodies if they had previously been buried, where they still in their coffins? The ones who came back from a very very different era, how dis they feel about all this technological, social and geographical change? There are so many unresolved issues in this book I feel it wasn't entirely finished.

In sum, I would recommend the first part, and the whole setting of the story, but I strongly advise to take the ending lightly. Keep in mind: don't expect any explanations and you'll be utterly satisfied!

___
This book was provided to me by its publishers, Harlequin, through NetGally in exchange for an honest review. Thank you for giving me this opportunity!



View all my reviews

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

'Any truth is better than indefinite doubt' - Sherlock Holmes

A Study in Silks (The Baskerville Affair, #1)A Study in Silks by Emma Jane Holloway
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh, my oh, my oh, my... Evelina Cooper, you rock!

smile photo smile_zps1f4a54a4.gif

This book was glorious :-) I had the best of times reading it, as I slowly devoured its words.
I am a big fan of that mysterious brilliant detective Sherlock so I was immediately drawn to the premise of this book: Shelock's niece, Evelina, Victorian England, a big mystery, romance and lots of steampunk adventures *happy dance* it was great!! From its superb language, alternating POV's and crafty plot, this book will seriously transport you to a different era/world. I was so impressed by the way each character's voice was meticulously maintained.


I have to admit that it was a bit long to finish, taking into account there are 2 more coming, but otherwise I felt it was just great. It made me laugh, cringe, worry, blush and curse! Everything in the best right measure.
The best thing: this mystery has more to come!!!
I can't wait :-)

Seriously recommended for fans of Agatha Christie, Conan Doyle and Sherlock! You'll be very happy meeting Evelina!

---
A Study in Silks was generously given to me by its publishers, Random House & Del Rey Spectra, through NetGalley. All in exchange of a time travel machine and a cup of Earl Grey... -ehem- Nevermind, no time travel machines were offered, just a honest review (and the Earl Grey was provided by my diligent husband).

View all my reviews

Friday, September 6, 2013

I am Sherlocked: with gears 'n all

I'm absolutely enthralled reading the book "A Study in Silks" by 

It's set in Nineteen Century England, focusing on Evelina Cooper -Shelock Homes' niece-. Full of magic, gears, voluminous gowns and a huge mystery! 
Such a fantastic steampunk adventure!

...more to come once I finish the book :)

For now, I will leave you with my favourite Sherlock... 

Enjoy: 

My gears, they grind.....